Fair Street Guest Houses
28 Fair Street
Newport, RI 02840
508.878.8323

History

28 Fair Street is listed on the National Historic Register.

Fair Street, is located off Thames Street, in Downtown Newport. It is one of the original streets in Newport, dating back to the early 1700’s. The property was originally owned by Edward Wanton (1631-1716), one of Newport’s earliest settlers

28 Fair Street enjoys the view to the east, of St Mary’s Church, where President Kennedy married Jackie in 1953, to the west a view of Thames Street and Newport Harbor, and to the North, the steeple of Trinity Church.

In 1818 Catherine Wickham, the daughter of Elizabeth Wanton sold the property to Hannah Wanton Gould, daughter of Stephen Wanton. She was possibly the first person to live at the site along with her descendants until 1863. During the British Occupation from 1776-1778 there is talk of Hannah supplying chalk to the soldiers from a previous location in Newport.

From 1880-1885 one of Newport’s most prominent builders, John D Johnson, (who also built The City town hall), built the second home on the site. The Mansard, “Second French Empire” home located at 28 Fair Street.

Today the home still boasts most of its original detail throughout this gracious home. The parlor and dining rooms, where breakfast is served, have all original wood floors, fireplaces, and moldings, plus the twelve-foot ceiling. These rooms are available for your use.

© 2006 Fair Street Guest House. All rights reserved
Site Designed By: Woodruff IT